Therapy at the Asylum

In 2021 Dr Gillean McDougall invited a group of 28 artists and writers to respond to the archive of Gartnavel Royal Hospital in Glasgow, founded as an asylum in 1843. The result is Writing the Asylum a collection of creative writing and artworks created by a talented bunch of people, which are incredibly varied in their imaginative approaches and styles; the project is available to view here. What I find as interesting as the works themselves are the commentaries which accompany them, these are the behind the scenes workings of the creative mind, the processes, ‘the making of’. Many reveal a personal response or connection to the subject, many discuss considerations of confidentiality, and all take respect for the patient records very seriously.

I was honoured to be asked to take part in this project and my work can be viewed here. At the end you can read my commentary which explains the route I took through the archive, and how I ended up writing about conversion therapy.

Here I’d like to add a postscript which is that the UK government, despite promises dating back to 2018, has not yet banned conversion therapy for all LGBTQ people. If you wish to read more about conversion therapy Stonewall have information on their website, and if you wish to add your voice to protest you can sign a petition here.

Leave a comment